Single Frame Story Week 12 … Simple

I missed last week’s Single Frame Story.  The prompt was “Genius.”  I found that to be a very difficult prompt.   I could have taken the prompt literally and submitted a photo of a very very very dear friend’s portrait who happens to be a genius, among his outrageously many talents.  But he is humble and exceedingly and beautifully grounded even in his flights of brilliance.  So then when I was left to my own devices and thought about what else constitutes genius, I came up with Love, Creativity, Perspectives, Tolerance, Openmindedness, Simplicity in an exceedingly Complex world.  I wasn’t really certain how to represent any of these values, capabilities, beliefs in the form of an image.  Although an idea occurs to me just now in this moment:  I should simply have drawn a heart.  Love is pretty genius…as is crafting a very simple and clear piece of communication.

Which leads me, in a way, to this week’s prompt:  Simple.  The concept I’ve gone for this week really could have fit (in my view) with the Genius prompt as well.  It kind of straddles both.  I created the image in freehand with scribbler.   I see several things wrong with the image.  It took everything in me to give my internal critic and editor a serious Time Out.  They’re still sulking over there in the corner of the room.  But frankly this time they need the lesson of “Simple”  more than I need their tortured lessons on “Perfection.”   So before they get up in protest — just because they can be so terribly bossy — and brandish their red pens around like swords in an attempt to wrangle this image away from me because it’s not to their standard, here is my entry for the Single Frame Story prompt “Simple.”

The image is entitled:  Beginner’s Mind.  Interesting how genius finds room to breathe in a Beginner’s Mind precisely because some value of simple lives there.

One day in an elementary school, a teacher gave her class an assignment to draw a tree.  The brown and green crayons ran out quickly and children had to wait their turn to use those colors.  While everyone else was still waiting on their green and brown colors, a little girl stood up and announced that she was finished.  When the teacher walked over, she realized that the tree the little girl had drawn was purple and shades of red.  The teacher corrected the little girl and said “I’m sorry sweetie, but I’ve never seen a purple and red tree before.”  The small child responded only by saying, “That’s too bad.”

2 thoughts on “Single Frame Story Week 12 … Simple

  1. I’ve done a fair amount of facilitation to help people give up their inner critics and express themselves through simple drawings, so I’m thrilled that you posted this. Few of us make it out of grade school without having that dimension of our innate ability stifled to some degree.

  2. Botgirl, that’s incredibly valuable work you do, helping others unshackle themselves from their inner critics. Your own work covers the spectrum, which is wonderful indeed. In my case, I’m much like the people you’ve worked with. It’s sooooooo difficult for me to let go of my internal editor. For some reason I am able to move myself there a bit more easily when it comes to sketches. When it comes to writing, ohhhhhhhh my internal editor is the most uptight Librarian-Dominatrix you can imagine. Nanowrimo has always been excruciatingly difficult for me precisely because of that. In fact I still owe 6,000 words for nanowrimo2010. And I will deliver on them even if it’s two years later. Maybe I can make my inner Librarian-Domme go completely balistic by just going with whatever comes out on the keyboard….

Leave a Reply

