My first shirt

I’ve always appreciated the talents of creators and designers inworld.  But I admit, not having tried to create clothing myself, I could never honestly say that I really understood the process.  So I decided to explore that a little.  I found Robin Wood’s awesome UV Templates and downloaded those.  I found several resources online that explained how to make clothing and on a whim I tried the instructions posted on the Mermaid Dairies.  The instructions there are very straightforward and clear and include pictures of the steps in Photoshop (which I greatly appreciate since Photoshop remains this very mysterious and powerful tool to me — kind of like the Great and Wonderful Oz — and probably always will). 

So after spending over an hour fumbling my way through (again, with no fault cast to what are very good, clear instructions at the Mermaid Dairies weblog), here is my first shirt. 

You wouldn’t believe how long I worked on this neckline.  Astounding isn’t it?  To think I spent so much time on the neckline and it came out like this?  (Don’t even get me started on the edging or the texturing.  Baby steps for now, grasshopper!) 

But you know what, for my first attempt, I’m happy that I tried going beyond the normal scoop neckline, even though I have no idea what happened in the back either, laughing.  (I must have missed a step in there to remove that black foreground which was created to avoid a white halo thingie that was mentioned in the tutorial.  I don’t know what all of that means, but I trust that somehow it’s significant…although I’ll probably run an experiment and *not* use the black foreground just to see what this white halo thing is.)  Suffice to say, I’ll be practicing all of this quite a bit more.  And in fact, I’m going to bring out the big guns and also reference Shenlei’s book “Designing Dreams” for help.  My goal is to get to the point where I can make one nice outfit.  For me, it’s all about experiencing this side of creativity, to not only do it but to also gain an even deeper appreciation for the incredible creative talents inworld.  And yes, I also would like to develop my own skills enough, hopefully, to bookend this “Before Skillz” weblog entry with an “After Skillz” entry.  At least that’s my hope!  (Could be many months in the making, but it’s still my hope!)

2 thoughts on “My first shirt

  1. Woot, congratulations! I am so far behind in my weblog reading (and everything else) that I’d missed this. Isn’t it fun to make your own stuff? And the serendipity always makes me smile. Who knew you didn’t do that strikingly contrasting back-panel on purpose? 🙂

    1. Smiles so very wide, thank you! 🙂 You’re so very right :)…it really is fun to make things, even though if I own up to it that neckline took probably close to 45 minutes to an hour for me to try to do. I am not kidding. Never before did I fully understand how incredibly difficult necklines are. I have a whole new level of appreciation for the craft of inworld fashion design. The serendipity makes me smile too…notice the butterfly along the front neckline? Perfect!

Leave a Reply

