University of Kentucky SL Art

Before I write a post about NaNoWriMo, I wanted to dwell a bit on the visual.   But before that, I just have to say that even though I don’t have 1600 words to write today, I’m still very much conditioned into pressing the “write new post” tab, whether or not the words are there to write.   I suppose I could write about the strategy session today at work, which, by the end, resulted in a complete mishmash of terms…but that would just make me want to go sell pencils or paint a wall, or do anything else that is obviously tangible.  (Like visiting SL builds and practicing picture taking.)   But come to think of it, writing a novel can be very much like strategy…you have to envision it all. Sometimes even before the words are on the page.   Oh hey, check this out…the Write or Die writing tool…now *that* little gizmo would have driven me right over the edge, particularly the feature of erasing characters when the writer stops writing.   (Uh…oh my god?)
 
So where was I?  Oh yes, the visual.   Several days ago, dear friend H turned me on to this incredible outfit that she had worn during the AU V fashion show; well, I ran out and snapped it up because the outfit is really a piece of creative expression more than anything else.  So feeling like a walking piece of art, I decided to explore the grid after trekking through fashion blogs and Peace on Earth locations in search of new designers, possible contenders for the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace.  Like everyone, one of the things I have always loved about SL is immersing myself in wonderful SL builds and experiencing the extensive creativity inworld.   Some builds, I visit on a regular basis…to watch as they change subtlely or greatly, but either way to feel as if it’s a new discovery each time.  Along the way, I try my hand at improving (ideally), but more truthfully, practicing (in actuality) my camera skills.  Here are some of the pictures from the AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky.  (By the way, the umbrellas in the picture swirl and blow along the road…it’s a wonderful dance to watch.   And the tree in the air reminded me of the upside down tree in my novel…although this build didn’t provide the inspiration.  The inspiration for the upside down redwood forest came from a little Japanese shop inworld, that had an upside down tree in the center of its shop, smiles.  It is so very cool.)
(Oooo…am struggling through this new WordPress dashboard, which somehow ate the photo captions after plopping the photos in the wrong spot on this post.  Suffice to say, the first two photos are of the Radio build by AM Radio, I think (am not sure) also for the U of Kentucky.)
Radio - AM Radio Build
Radio (at Midnight) - AM Radio build
Beneathe the Tree - AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky
Beneathe the Tree - AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky

 

Beneathe the Tree/Umbrellas - AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky
Beneathe the Tree/Umbrellas - AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky
eneathe the Tree (Umbrellas) - AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky
eneathe the Tree (Umbrellas) - AM Radio build for the U of Kentucky
Leave a Reply

