A Beautiful Picture

 

 

Taking a cue from Botgirl, I played around with the animoto tool, created a video of some of my sketches and a couple of pics, dropped in some music (“Picture Perfect” by Daddy is the Engine), and posted it to YouTube.  (Don’t mind the poor resolution on a few of the sketches.  This was more an experiment to see if I could put the piece together, with less focus on the quality of the images.)  Botgirl whipped hers together in 15 minutes…took me 45 minutes (after converting tif files to jpegs).  The bulk of that time found me trying to figure out how to drop a video into WordPress.  Still haven’t figured that out…at least, not in a straight-line manner.  Somehow, I think I created a widget of videos but I still couldn’t find mine.  I did manage, though, to figure out that it’s easier, in this case, to post my animoto video onto YouTube.  And easier still to nab it from YouTube to here.  Animoto is a fun tool.  Thanks, Botgirl, for blogging with it.  I’ll definitely play around with it more.

Egads.  Okay, so the code or widget thing just came through so I think I found it: 

[clearspring_widget title=”Animoto.com” wid=”46928cc51133af17″ pid=”48ee0655d65f46a8″ width=”432″ height=”260″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

Runs more smoothly from the widget than from YouTube.  For a little change, I remixed it…just to see.  And yeah, you can even remix the layout and order of the images after you create it.

(Guess that means it took me more than a day and 45 minutes to figure this out…)

5 thoughts on “A Beautiful Picture

  1. Wow, nice! Especially for just an experiment. 🙂

    I have to figure out all this new-fangled video and streaming stuff someday…

  2. Thank you, smiles, and you will zip through this truly much more easily than I did. It ended up taking me several hours to figure this out, but that’s only because I don’t know much about using video stuff. The tool itself does the work. Unlike me, you will be able to do this with your eyes closed. 🙂 All you do is upload your images (jpegs not tifs, and they recommend 10 images at a minimum), select the music from the site, and the tool puts it together. Hardest part for me was figuring out how to post it to my blog, laughing. As a result, it’s all over the place (i.e., here and YouTube and Animoto. Animoto has an icon to send a widget for the video directly to your blog…but I didn’t find that until this morning…was looking under the wrong widget area thingie). Give it a whirl, smiles. Can’t wait to see your streaming stuff, grins.

  3. Thank you, Botgirl, and anytime you want to chat, let me know! 🙂 Would love to! And thanks again for blogging with Animoto; it really is quite fun! (You’re right, the tool makes it all easy. The hardest part for me was figuring out how WordPress and videos work.)

    And thank you, too, Saiyge 🙂 You know I *love* your creations and style. You *should* resume sketching. I would love to see them and have a feeling they’re awesome (like your incredible jewelry!)!

Leave a Reply

