Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Fashion Designers

Believing in the Power of Your Dreams

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

~ Eleanor Roosevelt (a very wise soul)

 

Shengri La is a five-island corporate complex owned by the Fashion Research Institute (FRI), Inc., a Delaware corporation.  Shenlei Winkler – FRI CEO and the creative force behind a number of hugely successful fashion lines – has generously created the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace to showcase emerging fashion designers.  

Shenlei’s reasons for doing so are powerful (as listed on her Shengri La Utopian Micronation blog). 

In Shenlei’s Words:

Why we’re doing this – when I first came into Second Life, I met an optimistic, warm, sweet woman who became one of my best friends in this mad maze of pixels.  Lexa was an ardent supporter of my early efforts to get established as an avatar apparel designer, and her support extended beyond just saying nice things.  She went so far as to buy land for me and carry the tier on it for my very first store.   Because of her support, I was able to  move on from my first 512 meter plot of land to become one of the top earners in Second Life with my brand Prim & Proper.

I am paying her kindness forward, and to this end, my company, the Fashion Research Institute, Inc. is providing space for 20 emerging avatar apparel designers on our Second Life Shengri La sims, free of charge to them, for six months.

The Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Designers is curated by Michele Hyacinth, who is responsible for managing the design selection process and overseeing the marketplace.   To apply, send Michele a notecard with your name and best time to contact you in world.  Include a couple of sentences about the work you’re doing or hoping to do, and if you have any snapshots, add those to the notecard too.  Then send it along to Michele, and she’ll be in touch!

Best of luck to you, and may your wildest dreams come true!

~Shenlei Winkler
CEO
Fashion Research Institute, Inc.
Acting CEO
Black Dress Technology, Inc.
Shenlei Flasheart in SL

How very cool is that!?!  So, if you have this dream, drop a notecard to me.  Let’s turn this dream into reality.  

Shengri La Vintage Marketplace in Gorgeous Shengri La
Shengri La Vintage Marketplace in Gorgeous Shengri La

The Shengri La Vintage Marketplace is set in the breathtakingly beautiful Shengri La sim. 

3 thoughts on “Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Fashion Designers

  1. What a fantastic concept! Repaying by offering opportunities to the next generation. You will be a great at organizing and managing this Michele!!! Like Shen, you have a wonderful eye for art and beauty and fashion. Best of luck and have loads of fun!

  2. Hi, I am very interested in applying for the six month – Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Designers – are all applications inworld, or could I send application via email too?
    Thanks
    swannjiejie

  3. Hi, Swannjiejie! Great!! A notecard inworld is preferred, especially if you have any pictures to send. (And receiving applications by notecard helps me to keep everything organized and in one place.) My inworld name is the same as my blog name: Michele Hyacinth. So look me up and send your notecard! And feel free to IM too if you have any questions! (I sent an email reply to you, too, so you’ll probably see my email reply faster than you will see my reply on my blog. But either way, it’s all good. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

